Drivers Ed County Information

 WRESA currently is authorized by the state to provide Online Drivers Ed services to the following 16-county Western North Carolina region:  Buncombe, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Swain, Transylvania, and Yancey. However, the drivers education programs in Haywood and Jackson counties will not accept the online drivers education courses; thus students in these counties are not eligible to take the online drivers education courses unless they choose to use a private driving school.

Recent Legislation Change:  The state has recently added policy to encourage school systems to use remote instruction for their Drivers Education Programs. If a school system requests to use our online services, we might be allowed to serve counties outside of our region. Thus, if you are living in a NC county outside of our region, please register your information and I would also encourage you to let your school system know about our program.